, which model to use

Read more on JansZen in our home audio section

Scott2004-02-24 00:59

Dear sirs, I have a pair of Altec speakers (9844a), which my friend has helped me customize, meaning pulling out the terrible horn in the enclosure. I picked up a pair of 329a horns, and had a custom electronic crossover made. Now, my friend is pushing me to try to find a Janszen tweeter to make it a three-way system. He can\'t remember which Janszen it is, but feels it would make a dramatic improvement in my system. I am not technical, so I don\'t if it is a tweeter array I would need, or what. Do you know which model or models that might fit the bill. I would like to purchase one, or if you have a parts list, once I find the model and buy one, I\'m sure I would need parts.

The modifications I would want to make would be as follows:

Supposedly, this combination makes a dynamite midrange horn combo. I saw a pair on Ebay go for around $1,000. I now have 4 31a\'s plus three 730 drivers, which I would be willing to sell or trade. The electrostatic tweeter array doesn\'t necessarily have to be a Janszen. Any ideas would be heartily and gratefully accepted. Thanking you, in advance. Best wishes, Scott

Advertisement

Brian Wallen2005-05-28 09:22